Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Department of Chemistry Choong-Shik Yoo Group

Recent News from the Yoo Group:

Nov. 2015: Just published paper by YoungJay Ryu, Minseob Kim, and Choong-Shik Yoo on Phase diagram and transformation of iron pentacarbonyl to nm layered hematite and carbon- oxygen polymer under pressure, Scientific Reports (2015) DOI:10.1038/srep15139

Aug. 2015: Welcome to two new PhD graduate students, Joseph Hong and Mehdi Hamid, who just joined the Yoo group in 2015.

Sep. 2015: A new ACS-PRF grant arrived for the research on Thermo-Mechanical Reactions of Volatiles in Deep Earth Environments: Formation and Evolution of Abiotic Hydrocarbons (PI, Yoo, FY2015-2017) .

May 2015: Congratulation for a brand new doctor, Mihindra Dunuwille, PhD. Chem. WSU (2015). She is heading to University of Utah for continuing high-pressure research in this summer.

Dec. 2014: Our PRL paper on layered polymeric nitrogen highlighted as Super TNT? in Science Highlight in CDAC (Carnegies DOE Academic Alliance), Dec. 18, 2014,

Dec, 2014: Just published a new paper by D. Tomasino, M. Kim, J. Smith, and C. S. Yoo on Pressure-induced symmetry lowering transition in dense nitrogen to layered polymeric nitrogen (LP-N) with colossal Raman intensity in Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 205502 (2014).

May 2014: Congratulation to Dr. Dane Tomasino, PhD. Chem. WSU 2014. He is moving to Intel Co, Portland, OR.

May 2014: Congratulation to Gus Borstad, PhD. Phys. WSU, 2014. He is heading to Army Research Laboratory, Aberdeen, NY.

Feb. 2014: Congratulation to Dane Tomasino, receiving the NNSA Outstanding Poster Award, presented at the 2014 SSAP Symposium; Materials under Extreme Conditions.

June 2014: A new ARO grant arrived for the research on Dynamic Response of Reactive Metals (PI- Dr. Yoo, FY2014-2017).

Dec, 2013: Congratulation to Dane Tomasino, receiving the NASA Grant Fellowship through College of Arts and Sciences at WSU.

July 2013: The DTRA reported our discovery of superconductivity in dense carbon dioxide, as a Fundamental research highlight.

July 2013: Dr. Yoo, together with D. Moore at LANL and R. Collins at LLNL, has organized, the 2013 Joint AIRAPT/APS-SCCM Meeting in Seattle, July 2013. The meeting was a great success with a large participation of 700 PhD scientists and 100 graduate students.

May 2013: Congratulation for a brand new doctor, Ranga Dias, PhD in Physics, WSU (2013). He is moving to Harvard University to join the Lymann Laboratory.

Feb. 2013: Just published a new paper by Ranga Dias, Choong-Shik Yoo, Viktor V. Struzhkin, Minseob Kim, Takaki Muramatsu, Takahiro Matsuoka, Yasuo Ohishi, and Stainislav Sinogeikin on Low-Temperature Superconducting Phase and Magnetic Ordering in Highly Disordered Carbon Disulfide under High Pressure, in Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. 110, 11720 (2013).

Dec. 2012: A new DARPA grant arrived for the research on XSolids (PI – Dr. Yoo, 2012-2017)

July 2012: A new NSF grant arrived for the research on Squeezing Simple Molecules to Novel Conducting Polymers (PI- Dr. Yoo, 2012 – 2016)

Oct. 2011: Our research on carbon disulfide highlighted as Carbon Disulfide Squeezed into Highly Conducting Polymers, a Science Highlight in Deep Carbon Observatory, Oct. 15 (2011),

July 2010: Our research on xenon disulfide was highlighted as Use Super-High Pressures to Create Superbattery, WSU New Release, July 2 (2010), written by Eric Sorensen. This news triggered a large number of reports internationally in US and aborad for several months.

July 2010: Just published a new paper by Minseob Kim, Mathew Debessai, and Choong-Shik Yoo on Novel 2D and 3D Extended Solids and Metallization of Compressed XeF2 in Nature Chem. 2, 784 (2010)

August 3, 2009: Dr Jing-Yin Chen reported her findings of high structural stability of SWNT well beyond that of sp2 C=C bonds in graphite and carbon fullerenes in Chem. Phys. Lett, entitled High Structural Stability of Single Wall Carbon Nanotube under Quasi-Hydrostatic High Pressures

July 29, 2009:  The General Assembly of the AIRAPT have voted at the AIRAPT-XXII in Japan, for Prof. Yoo to host and chair the 2013 AIRAPT-XXIV conference in Seattle.  The AIRAPT is the International Association for the Advancement of High Pressure Science and Technology with over 1000 memberships throughout the world.

July 22, 2009: Dr. Amartya published his discovery of new extended carbon dioxide phase in Phys. Rev. B, entitled Raman Studies of Novel Molecular-to-Nonmolecular Transitions in Carbon Dioxide at High Pressures and Temperatures.

July 15, 2009: Prof. Yoo awarded a three-year NSF grant (DMR 0854618) on Mbar Chemistry: Novel State of Matter at Extreme Conditions,

June 29, 2009: Dr. Yoo delivered a plenary lecture on High Energy Density Extended Solids at the 2009 APS-SCCM conference in Nashville, TN, June 29 – July 3, 2009

July 15: Dr. Yoo received the second year funding from DHS-Alert (504928) for studies of Chemical and Shock Mitigation of Nonconventional Explosive.

June 1, 2009:  Dr. Yoo awarded a two-year ACS-PRF grant (49207-ND10) for High Pressure Kinetics Studies of Formation, Phase Transition, and Crystal Growth of Methane Hydrates in Dynamic-DAC

May 12, 2009: Congratulation to Mihindra Dunuwille, who just won the Dodgen Award for the best Physical Chemistry and Materials Science Seminar in 2008-2009.

May 4, 2009: Dr. Yoo awarded a three-year grant from the Defense Threat Reduction Agency (DTRA; BRBAA08-E-2-0059) to explore Novel Functional Extended Solids at Extreme Conditions.

 Three recently joined group members: from the left, Ranga Diaz, Mathew Debessai, and Gus Borstad.  Welcome and go Big on your dream!

April 4, 2009: Mr. Ranga Diaz, a graduate student in Physics Department, joined the Group.  He is already moving ahead with his first project on organic metals

March 24, 2009: Dr. Mathew Debassei joined the group from Prof. J. Schilling’s Group in Washington University, Saint Louis, MO.   He will be taking on the project related to insulator-metal transitions in functional transition metals and compounds.

March 16, 2009: Several group members presented their research results at the 2009 APS_March meeting in Pittsburgh, PA, March 16-20, 2009.

  • Choong-Shik Yoo on High Pressure “Mbar” Chemistry
  • Amartya Sengupta on High pressure high temperature phases of carbon dioxide
  • Jing-Yin Chen on Physical and Chemical Transformations of Sodium Cyanide at High Pressures
  • Minseob Kim on Extended Solid Phase of Noble Fluorine at High Pressures

 Feb. 1, 2009: Mr. Gus Borstad, a graduate student in Physics Department, joined the Group.  He is working on understanding high-pressure behaviors of simple binary molecular mixtures.

January 9, 2009:  Drs. Yoo and Chen attended the 2nd Global-COE forum at Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan, and presented lectures, respectively, on Solid State Transformations in Extreme Conditions and on Chemical Transformations of CN Compounds at High Pressures.

December 15, 2008: Congratulation to the WSU-SRI-SWRI team who just won a multi-year project from the DARPA for the research on Reactive Material Structure.  The team consists of five co-PI’s: Atakan Pekar, Yogendra Gupta, and Choong-Shik Yoo from WSU, James Gran at SRI, and Gordon Johnson at SWRI.

Aug.  5,   2008:  Two talented REU students, Raymond Clay and Joe Lanska, have completed their summer projects on high-pressure materials research.